Photo Friday My Pbase Gallery Glamis Information Old StuffNewest StuffEmail Me!Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com!

I win!

15 March 2004 - 8:58 am


Today is the Ides of March

15 March

Not to be confused with these Ides of March.

So beware today.


One of the fun things about moving to a dramatically different place is the you get dramatically different scenery. You�ve already seen a few examples here and here.

Not only do I get new plants but I get new wildlife too. Specifically, I get new birds. Granted we have our share of doves and blackbirds and what not that you can see just about anywhere. But for the longest time I�d heard these funny squalks flying through the air and in the trees. I could hear them in the palms when they landed but it was had to find them. Small green object on bigger green and plentiful objects makes for a lot of looking and not a lot of finding.

Finally, after much effort and looking like a complete boob while running around peering up into the sky nearly falling on my face with a camera glued to my head pointed at nothing because you can't possibly catch these things on film or digital in flight, I got a picture of one, as seen here -- (notice this is not taken on a plam or in flight :-P)

Now, the hubby and I have had an ongoing debate about what this thing was even before we had seen it up close. He kept telling me it was a PARROT. I kept insisting it was too small for a PARROT and therefore my guess was a PARAKEET. This has been going on, mind you, for several months; ever since we moved here. It was much like the "religion" debate people have. I wasn't changin' my mind, neither was he; we were both insistent that we were right. N'er the twain shall meet. I should've made a bet with him.

So after I snapped that picture I immediately went to google to find this site with this picture of...

Pic from South Florida Birding With Larry Manfredi

...a MONK PARAKEET. This site, and subsequent others I�ve found, CLEARLY states this bird is a MONK PARAKEET and not a silly PARROT. What was even more brilliant about it was the pic was taken in South Florida not far from where we are, so there's no arguing about a different "variety" that could be somewhere else. Nope. Right here in South Florida, baby!

Granted there were other pics I found of some green PARROTS, but they were much, much bigger than these small little birds. And you know I'm not tellin' him that. ;-) No way.

So....I win! I win! I win!


Celebrate (previous entry)next entry


Search for
Get a Free Search Engine for Your Web Site

Site Meter

Weblog Commenting by HaloScan.com